Skip to: Content | Navigation

Benjamin F. Dillingham and Bridget Wilson LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor

The Benjamin F. Dillingham, III and Bridget Wilson LGBT Veterans Wall of Honor recognizes lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender veterans with ties to San Diego who have taken the oath to serve our country and have done so honorably, and with distinction, acting as role models in advancing equality. The Veterans Wall commemorates these veterans' lives in hopes that their courage, bravery and sacrifices will continue to inspire future generations.

Listed below are the inductees since the Wall's inception. Click on the inductee's name (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 only) for their biography. 2018 bios are coming soon. The full listing of biographies can be found here.

2018 Honorees

(bios of 2018 Honorees are coming soon)

Eva Belanger, USAF Courtland Hirschi, USMC Alva Smithson, USN
Norman Braxton, USN James "Clay" Kilpatrick, USMC Robert G. Wheeler, USAF
Thomas Carpenter, USMC George Robert Pedrick, USN Will Williams, USN
James Cassidy, USN James Seal, USAF

2017 Honorees

Robert Bettinger, USA Nic Herrera, USA John Lockhart, USN
Justin Brent, USA Zander Keig, USCG Craig Alan Morgan, USN
Wayne Elias Dietz Jr., USN Robert John Leyh, USN
Roger Greenseth, USA Judith Litzenberger, USN

2016 Honorees

Joanna (Gasca) Sansoterra, USAF Scott P. Lawry, USN Allen R. Schindler, Jr, USN
Dennis E. Howard, USN Edwin O. Lohr, USAF Jeff Underwood, USN
Arthur J. Kelleher, USN Sean R. Redmond, USAF Craig A. Wilgenbusch, USN
William E. Kelly, USAF Sean M. Sala, USN Veronica Zerrer, USA

2015 Honorees

Mitchel Eugene Cantrell, USA Camille Emily Davidson, USAF Gordon K. Wahl, USAF
Diane M. "Semo" Cimochowicz, USN Jackie K. Jackson, USN Donna F. Walker, USN
Alberto Cortes, USN Lester Lefkowitz, USA  
Phyllis A. Daugherty, USAF Trent Lozano-Osier, USN  

2014 Honorees

Dennis Michael Fiordaliso, USN
John Carlos Keasler, USA Thomas Joseph Seguine, USN
Robert Hall "Jess" Jessop, USN Robert A. Lehman, USMC Frank Stefano, USN

2013 Honorees 

Jacque Atkinson, USMC Ben Gomez, USN Joseph Christopher Rocha, USN
John Banvard, USAA Kathleen A. Hansen, USN Will Rodriguez-Kennedy, USMC
Kristen Beck, USN April F. Heinze, USN Evelyn Lynn Thomas, USMC
Stewart Bornhoft, USA Morgan M. Hurley, USN Autumn Violet Sandeen, USN
Carlita "Lee" Durand, USAF Gerard Nadeau, USAA  
Shaun A. Flak, USMC Stephen Peters, USMC  

2012 Honorees

Stan Berry, USN Lisa Kove, USN  Luke Terpstra, USA
Benjamin M. Fowler III, USA Robert Lynn, USN  
George Haverstick, USN Harvey Milk, USN  
Donald P. Kambic, USA August Provost, USN  

Inaugural Honorees (2011)

Benjamin F. Dillingham III, USMC    
Jeri Dilno, USAF
Bridget Wilson, USN
Jim Woodward, USN    

Candidate Criteria

Veteran: Candidate must meet the definition of a Veteran

•    Took the Oath of Enlistment or Oath of Office

•    Embodies the Core Values of their respective service branch

•    Copy of DD214 is required for each candidate to confirm service.

       (Click here to request a DD214 from the National Archives Veterans' Records Service.)

•    Eligible regardless of rank earned, branch of service, or component (Active, Reserve or National Guard)

•    Candidate may be living or deceased


•    Honorable Discharge is required, the only exception being separation based on veteran’s sexual orientation, gender identity or medical status


•    Serves a role model by demonstrating repeated acts of charity, bridge building or community involvement in a manner that advances equality


•    Must have served in or lived in San Diego County long enough to meet the contribution criteria, but need not have been in San Diego when this contribution criteria was met


•    Must be nominated by someone other than themselves, with two co-sponsors who reside within the County of San Diego. Nominator need not be from the County of San Diego. Co-sponsors must be from the County of San Diego and need not know the candidate personally, but must support the candidate’s nomination. Nominations are accepted through July 31 for consideration for induction that calendar year. Nomination instructions and links are below.


•    Any candidate registered as a sex offender or charged with sexual molestation (without acquittal) is not eligible for consideration. 

To submit a nomination:

1) Please fill out the nomination form here by July 31 of the year you wish consideration for induction be made.

2) Please e-mail or mail backup documentation to Ben Cartwright by July 31 of the year you wish consideration for induction be made. Backup documentations include DD214 (or equivalent); co-sponsor signature form; and other materials you wish to share to enhance the nomination.

Back-up documentation can be emailed to or sent via post mail to:

San Diego LGBT Community Center
Attn: Ben Cartwright
PO Box 3357
San Diego, CA  92103

Back-up documentation can also be hand delivered to The Center, 3909 Centre St., San Diego, CA  92103.


•    Anyone wishing to appeal the decision of the LGBT Veteran’s Wall of Honor Advisory Council may do so in writing to the San Diego LGBT Community Center’s Chief Public Affairs & Civic Engagement Officer Rebekah Hook-Held at

2019 Advisory Council

Jim Cassidy
Shaun Flak
Joanna Gasca
Morgan Hurley
Sean Redmond
Linda Sanders
Evelyn Thomas
Veronica Zerrer
Center Staff Liaison: Ben Cartwright